Forums Latest Members

issues with omega AD, now full service?

1. Playford Oct 29, 2018

Bit of a what would you do question. I have a 90s quartz omega seamaster 300. It was bought second hand so no idea on service history. It recently stopped working properly with hands stuttering and jumping on seconds hand skipping 5 secs at a time etc. Took into a jewellers (omega/Rolex/pp AD) for new battery and reseal, came back working fine and no mention of anything from watchmaker. 3 weeks later watch has stopped and seems to be trying to tick on seconds hand but stuck and watch has stopped. AD was making noises that it requires a full omega service, this all seems a bit odd, no issues and 3 weeks later it dies and it suddenly needs a full service, apparently due to lubrication? All seems a bit odd to me. Their watch maker is examining the watch and ringing me this week. What would you do?

I don’t want to be unreasonable but this seems very odd.

2. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Oct 29, 2018

Sounds like the original issues may not have been entirely battery-related. Quartz watches need service, so if it has been many years...

Foo2rama and connieseamaster like this.
  3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Oct 29, 2018

4. MRC Oct 29, 2018

I had a similar issue with my 1979/80-made Seamaster with 1342 movement although having owned it from new in 1982 I knew its service history (none whatsoever :thumbsdown:). It had become unreliable after a few years possibly due to being dropped onto a hard floor and I did not wear it often. It went into a drawer and sometimes was given a new battery but eventually I left it there with old battery inside! About 25 years later I tried to revive it and had an AD fit a fresh battery which lasted a few months only. Another battery, same behaviour. No warnings about damage or need for service.