Forums Latest Members

ISO a Breitling Navitimer (806) Expert!

1. jrhave2 Mar 12, 2019

Hello OF! I have a milestone birthday coming up this year, so I've started seeking the appropriate watch to mark the occasion. I've been collecting for a few years and have several brands in my collection (Omega, Longinges, Tissot, etc...), so I was thinking of maybe a vintage Rolex. After several weeks of research I found a piece at a local dealer that peaked my interest, so of course I blew off work and ran in to have a look. Unfortunately, the Rolex model(s) I was considering are too small for my wrist, but I wasn't depressed for long, because I noticed a Navitimer 806 sitting in the case. Navitimers are not entirely new to me - I was considering one a couple years back and had done some research, but I had never handled the 806 manual wind (Venus 178) in-person before, and I fell in love. Naturally, I've spent the last few weeks reading everything I can find online, but (as I'm sure many of you know) Brietling's own records from this time are spotty at best, and they often conflict with the "experts" who have written about the early Navitimers online.

What I'm really looking for is someone who is well versed enough to help me analyze this particular piece, as there is no "record" to compare against. I've pulled dozens of similar-age 806 sales (from ebay and other sites), and I've seen at least 3 different sub-dial hands, as well as different crowns and case sizes. Valuation is another tough task. The sales have varied from ~$3K to over $8K, and they mainly seem to be driven by some "rare" attribute, which is nearly impossible to verify (again) given the lack of records from Breitling.

Of course, I have included some photos below (with my own thoughts). Would love any feedback from those more familiar...

Navitimer 1.jpg