Forums Latest Members

Is this a hobby for the super rich?

1. bucksandreds Mar 3, 2019

Hello,

I’m a 30 something dentist who’s been eyeing my first Omega (speedmaster Pro) but haven’t been able to justify purchasing one. Am I just too darn cheap or are most of you multimillionaires? The reason I started this thread is I guess I want you guys to help me rationalize to myself why I should buy it.

Thanks in advance.

flw, robinhook, Seaborg and 6 others like this.
  2. blufinz52 Hears dead people, not watch rotors. Mar 3, 2019

Here's how I look at it. Many folks (myself included) will spend several thousand dollars to go on a nice vacation. Money well spent, but when the vacation is over, what do you have? Memories and photos that no one wants to look at, lol. Spend several thousand dollars on a watch that you will enjoy for many, many years, potentially pass on to a someone you love, or at the very least, sell it for most of what you paid, is a great deal.

I say, get that Speedmaster Pro and wear it every day :thumbsup:

3. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Mar 3, 2019

Treat yourself

Funny, as I leant my dentist this for a few months after we got talking watches when he used to look at my watches each time I saw him.

image.jpeg image.jpeg

He now has a few watches.

4. 3nicewatches $100 well spent Mar 3, 2019

If you have the funds to spare and it will bring you joy, buy it. Pretty sure most of us here are not in the millionaires club. My watches bring me joy every time I put one on...so totally worth it, end of story.

5. sturosen Mar 3, 2019

I don’t think most people are multimillionaires (I’m definitely not) but yes, you need enough disposable income to justify what can add up pretty quickly to a lot of money.

For what it’s worth, I’m about to turn 60 and only just started collecting in the last year (but have definitely made up for lost time). I wish I’d jumped in earlier.