Forums Latest Members
  1. Mike Sep 27, 2015

Hey guys/gals,

Hope this is the right forum for this. I am purchasing my first Omega from a private seller and just want to make sure it looks legit to you all. It's my first luxury watch so I want to make certain.

Couple quick questions:

1. Is it real?
    2. What would a fair price be to you all, on a 2531.80 in this condition?
    3. How often does it need to be serviced and how much does servicing cost?
    4. Can I assume a watch of this caliber will last my lifetime with regular service?

Photos attached.

Thanks so much everyone!

omega1.jpg omega2.jpg omega3.jpg omega4.jpg omega5.jpg
  2. Maximus84 Sep 27, 2015

I am by no means an expert in that model, or even Omega for that matter, but I'm learning enough to hopefully offer sound advice (the real pros will be along soon I'm sure and will either back up my assertions or shoot me down!).

1. It looks real to me. Nothing obvious at least to my eyes. The only thing I would question are the hands - are they really black? Pretty sure they're meant to be silver in colour.

2. Not familiar with this model so can't really help with prices, but sites like watchrecon have often been quoted for good market prices.

3. Servicing is usually required every 4/5 years or so I believe. Costs vary - Omega is generally much more expensive than your independent watchmaker - Omegas prices can be found on their website (my internet connection is painfully slow and Omega's website is pretty content rich So I can't post an exact link but start at omega watches.com)

4. Yep, with due care, attention and servicing, this watches will last a lifetime.

3. shutterlife Sep 27, 2015

Looks real

Prices vary, so you will need to a little home work

Service at omega is about $550

Will last past your lifetime and the next with proper care.

Buckeyes#1 likes this.
  4. Mike Sep 27, 2015

Thanks for the reply! I am hoping that it is just the light, but now you have my wondering.