Forums Latest Members

Is there QC inconsistency with modern zenith, also what about other brands and vintage?

1. ELV web Jan 2, 2015

Hi Forum members,

I am a total noob that just cross the fence into zenith last week, came across many interesting anecdotes and now on top of PP, VC and UG, I started to want to get my hands on Zenith to the detrimental of my financial health :p . The subject matter today is QC in production. I have come across a thread in WUS (I personally prefer OF by a mile because of how user friendly and modern the interface feels+its super open policy). But there was this interesting thread that talks about how QC is really miles apart for zenith 1969 models especially on the dial quality (I don't want to go into finishing as to me it gets very technical and kind of too picky, and I must admit that i just don't want to discover the flaws on the zenith I just obtained). Here are some pictures of the QC issues, kindly note how the index minute markers overlap and/or not overlap into inner dial and the outer minute number touches the inner ring and outer edge and/or just sit in the middle with out touching. Plus the paint pattern on the numerals in the subdial. The link of the disccusion can also be found here. With much more gruesome details magnified....
    http://forums.watchuseek.com/f71/ze...ing-10th-under-microscope-82-pics-772368.html