Forums Latest Members
  1. GBub Mar 2, 2018

Hello all!

I'm a watch forum veteran, but a noob to vintage omega so excuse my relative ignorance.

I've recently found my taste in watches changing from new/nearly new Rolexes to more vintage pieces and have decided I need to get on the speedmaster professional bandwagon, hence joining here a few weeks ago to try and learn from the legends and hopefully pick up a watch in M2M.

I like the idea of having a watch from my birth year, '77 (damn, that's painful to see that in black and white - OLD) and so I've been looking for speedys from that era and have come across the one below. I'm waiting for further info and pics from the seller (I've no movement pics as yet), but something about it has got my spidersense tingling. How do you guys find it, any cause for concern that stands out? Are they replacement hands? If so, what sort of effect would they have on price (because I do like the look of it)? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mr_yossarian Mar 2, 2018

As you already pointed out: to see if the movement serial matches the Extract is crucial nowadays. The rest appears to be fine. Does the dealer offer a trusted checkout?

nonuffinkbloke and Foo2rama like this.
  3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Mar 2, 2018

From the pictures nothing stands out as wrong.

nonuffinkbloke likes this.
  4. GBub Mar 2, 2018

Thanks for the replies guys. It's a private seller on Chrono 24. I could do an escrow purchase perhaps, but I'm still feeling a bit icky about it.

nonuffinkbloke likes this.
  5. Toishome Mar 2, 2018

You should. Unless you can get a escrow purchase it will be risky for sure. That said watch looks good :thumbsup:

6. ulackfocus Mar 2, 2018

You mean besides it being a Speedmaster? :taunt: ::stirthepot::

7. GBub Mar 2, 2018

Now now! Don't come down here throwing your puny 23,662 posts around as if you know what you're talking about. Bloody noobs.....