Forums Latest Members

Is the patina "yellow" enough on this Seamaster 165.024?

1. DotOverNewYork Mar 4, 2017

I'm looking at this: http://www.europeanwatch.com/24652.html

[​IMG]

Compared to other 165.024s I've seen from those years, the even coloration and condition of the lume on the dial and hands almost seems too good to be true, and it looks less yellow than I'd expect compared to almost every other one I've seen of the same vintage.

Is it likely that it was re-lumed, or is that plausibly original and just a really good example? If it's a re-lume, roughly how much of the value would that remove?

Thank you very much for any help. I'm very new to this world and trying to learn as much as I can (without asking too many stupid questions along the way).

khanmu and MIL-84 like this.
  2. watchlovr Mar 4, 2017

Looks like a relume to me, have a look at 6

Jwit likes this.
  3. DotOverNewYork Mar 4, 2017

Ah, nice catch. So those little edges on the outer perimeter suggest another layer of lume atop the original spots, I assume?

Is this how it's supposed to look, more yellow and without those little edges? http://www.ebay.com/itm/152251640923Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

4. watchlovr Mar 4, 2017

I personally don't like the look of that one either, check the lume at 12

5. DotOverNewYork Mar 4, 2017

Nice catch. Thank you!

One of these days, I'll find my Seamaster, but it looks like today is not that day.

6. dbane007 Mar 4, 2017

Regardless of the fact if it was relumed or not, I think it's important to understand how patina develops. I'm not talking about water/moisture "patina".

But generally, tritium lume of watch dials left in the dark (drawer or safe) will develop a much dark yellow/orange patina than watches used daily and exposed to the sun. This is contrary to what most people believe but NOS dials left in a drawer for 30-40 years have much richer patina for the most part.