Forums Latest Members
  1. josh005 Jun 28, 2014

Hi, I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I'm relatively new to the world of watches and totally new to Omega. I found this at an estate sale and I'm trying to figure out if it's real. I haven't been able to find anything quite like it on the internet, although I have seen similar looking watches. This one has (what I assume to be) luminous glow-in-the-dark dots at the end of each hour marker and is NOT marked "Swiss Made" on the face. The face is marked with Omega and AUTOMATIC on top and Seamaster below. The back is marked "10KGFBEZ" on one line and "STEEL BACK." On the second.

When I found it, it hadn't been worn for a while, the leather strap was rotting and metal clasp was very corroded. But, after a few shakes it started ticking and has been keeping perfect time for the last few hours.

I'm inclined to believe it's real just because given it's age and apparent lack of service it's keeping good time and seems to be running well.. But, I have zero for comparison. If it's a fake, it's an old fake.

Sorry for the poor image quality, I can try to get better pictures later if they'd help.

I'd appreciate any thoughts/info anyone may have, as I said I'm totally new to Omega. Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Jun 28, 2014

It may well be a local production Seamaster with a US made case. The dial has been refinished at some stage, but the Omega logo looks right to me. However, until you have the back of the watch opened to reveal the movement and the case number on the inner case back, it is difficult to say whether it's 'real' inside.

Care is needed in opening the case. Also, I would not have the movement going until it has been dis-assembled, cleaned and oiled, the absence of lubrication leading to damage and wear of the moving parts.

Cheers

Desmond

3. josh005 Jun 29, 2014

Thanks Desmond! I have a case wrench somewhere, I can try to open it later this week and get a picture.