Forums Latest Members

Is it just the interim Christmas breeze inflating prices?

1. chipsotoole Oct 4, 2017

Hi Omegoids,

I've been scouring online sales closely for about 2 years now. Recently, (the last 3 months or so) I think I've noticed what appears to be a subtle but definite overall hike in prices, particularly in the lower end vintage Omegas . By this I mean ones that aren't close to collector condition, maybe not working, need parts/overhauls or have dials and cases that many might pass on. This trend isn't just limited to the US but most of mainland Europe and the UK.
    It seems to me, that what was a bog standard 200 ish Dollar watch last year ,is fetching closer to 300 now. And staples like say vintage dynamic bracelets seem to have gone from 60- 75 dollars to closer to 100. 1st gen Omega Dynamics themselves are all over the place in terms of sales prices and the reasons aren't as readily apparent as a knackered dial or a tired movement.
    Is this a Christmas thing or are the blazing hot temperatures at the top end of the Speedy market causing inclement weather patterns at the lower end? I didn't notice much of a change last year, except for the increase in the Christmas present non collectors buying the usual redials from the usual suspect places : India, S Korea, Argentina, Chile, Philippines, Ukraine. Their prices seem to be steady.

Yes of course there are still deals and bargains to be tracked down and monitored, but seemingly significantly fewer.