Forums Latest Members

Introduction and explanation why I have only one watch..

1. aldindubo Aug 5, 2016

Hi guys,

New member here. I'm Aldin, born in former Yugoslavia (now Bosnia), I live in the Netherlands and I'm a law student.

I'm not really into watches, however, I can appreciate a nice luxury watch. On the other side, I am really into electric guitars.

After having owned Breitlings, Tag Heuers and Omega's I have found out that Omega is, in my current situation,my favorite brand.

I said in my current situation, because I am a firm believer in the saying "Buy what you can afford and not what you can buy". Actually my favorite watch is the Rolex Submariner (ceramic) and I could save up for several months and buy one, but that is not going to happen until the moment my monthly salary will be around $10K.

So I went looking for the perfect Omega. It had to be a diver, with more than 200WR, with a diving bezel (which I use a lot for measuring time length during ordinary every day things), most simple as possible automatic movement (did not want a Co-axial!), smaller size and with all original papers and boxes.

The only I had was the Seamaster 300M Professional. However, I did not like the Bond-version. So I got myself a 2054.50.00, which is the full size sword hands Seamaster! However, after owning it for a while I found out that the size is too big for my taste. So I got rid of it and kept looking and looking.. And finally bought the mid size model of the same watch! It has only a different, but better looking, bracelet.

I was actually planning to buy a Datejust, but I couldn't after all due to the lack of the minimal 200WR, lack of diving bezel and the cheapy looking and feeling clasp.