Forums Latest Members
  1. jonohio Apr 27, 2017

Hi folks,

This is my first post, but i've been reviewing the boards for a few months now. Now that i have found my first Omega I figured it's time to actually register. It's a 2531.80.00 Bond with luminova dials, I think it's from the late 1990s/early 2000s.

I found this last week and fell in love. I'm quite happy the bezel is not a mess and the glass is clean. I don't have any history on the watch but I wanted to get everyone's thoughts on next steps with the watch on two fronts.]

1. I plan to send it to a local shop in Ohio (once I find one) for a service - the watch is running very fast - like 2 minutes a day. Any recommendations? Or perhaps I should spend the big bucks and send it to Omega for a factory service?

2. The hands appear to be original and they are starting to corrode, It's not bad yet, but it's something that I dislike. Should I have them replaced or keep them original? Is there any danger to the watch movement if I leave them original?

Happy to be officially onboard.

- Jonathon

2017-04-27 21.24.07.jpg
    alam, R3D9, Bushido and 1 other person like this.
  2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Apr 27, 2017

It's new enough to send to Omega for a full service for several years of enjoyment after a service (that will make it like new) they will replace the hands also.

Bushido likes this.
  3. Bushido Apr 27, 2017

Welcome to the forums!

Also:
    Also my recommendation^

What made you pull the trigger on this SM as your first Omega?

4. jonohio Apr 28, 2017

Thanks guys. As to why THIS one - I was looking for a watch around $2k after full service and always loved the Brosnan wave dial smp. When I saw this I knew it would be a great every day wearer. For service I just shipped it off to nesbits and they will be adding links for me.