Forums Latest Members
  1. ArmbandUhr69 Dec 28, 2021

Hi, new member and a bit more of a watch wearer than collector. I have been wearing Omega for over 50 years and have also fallen for a Black Bay bronze, some Glashuette mechanical models and several German quartz watches that appealed to me. All worn still. As an engineer I have a practical relationship with mechanical watches, and an appreciation for the "just there" place watches had in life before the arrival of "devices".

I have an issue that I didn't know I had. I bought my Speedmaster Mk2 in 69 if my memory serves. It may have been a display model at the jewellers and at that time it was just a quality watch for a person who needed that attribute. I wore it daily for 25 years before buying a Seamaster Pro 300 which I then wore Daily before accumulating additional watches and I then swapped them around. I recently started taking an interest in my Speedmaster as I had had it for 50 years and as I started reading it became obvious that it didn't meet any of the standard criteria.

To set the scene, 50 years is a long time to remember details but it started of as a new watch and has been regularly serviced over that time. It has had several new crystals but I don't recall any other replacements of hands, face, bracelet etc but there have been some movement components replaced during service.

This is what I have. A speedmaster Mk2 Racing Dial with a 26427xxx movement number suggesting an Aug 68 manufacture. The hands seem to belong to an early Mk2 black dial, the bracelet is an 18mm early 60's shape with an 1167 clasp. Clearly this is not classic specifications for an early watch, while all servicing was done through Omega with no reference to it not being kosher Omega configuration.

omega face1.jpg watch_Back1.jpg movement1.jpg bracelet.jpg 1167.jpg