Forums Latest Members
  1. SpeedBird 1982 Mar 23, 2017

Someone had mentioned to me recently that it might be smart to look into travellers insurance for my new Speedmaster. It's my first nice timepiece and I kind of like the idea. I can imagine be mugged in some dark alley and feeling really smart as I'm handing over an expensive watch! However, I would love to hear your thoughts on the topic. Has anyone employed such measures?

I travel for a living but usually to relatively safe places and I don't push my luck. But still, it's a lot of value wrapped around a wrist held together by screwed in links.

Very interested in the advice from the OF.

Thanks,

Brian
    New owner of a "TinTin" Speedy.

semper_shells and Rodmar like this.
  2. flw history nerd Mar 23, 2017

Your best bet is to start by looking at your current coverage on your personal property insurance policy. You may have a rider for valuable personal property, which would include your new Omega. I have my watches covered on a rider, with the premium being about 1% of the stated value of each piece. Get online and look at your policy. I wouldn't wear it around too much without getting it covered.

3. KstateSkier Mar 23, 2017

4. coelacanth Mar 23, 2017

I decided to go with a jewelry specific insurance (not sure if I'm supposed to be spelling the name). I didn't want to mess with renter's insurance itself, and I didn't want to have them dictate how to repair. With the jewelry specific insurance I went with, I can bring the watch to my AD I trust have their matchmaker work on it if the watch gets damaged. Loss, theft, mysterious disappearance are also covered. I'm paying about 1.5% of stated value.

5. VillageIdiot Mar 24, 2017

Tik-Tok of Oz and Sculler22 like this.
  6. rcs914 Mar 24, 2017