Forums Latest Members

I'm trying to track down a 20/18 strap in cognac or reddish brown

1. falcon4311 Sep 15, 2015

And I think I found one. The problem is it's 21mm, I like to live on the edge. How tough would it be to trim a slight amount off of each side to make it fit? I know that would kill the value of the strap but I plan on keeping it. I've never tried this before.

2. wsfarrell Sep 16, 2015

You could try shaving .5mm off each side near the hole with an extremely sharp blade, or touching it quickly to a belt grinder with around a 320 grit belt---finishing off with shoe polish in either case. I've done both with some success. Take a walk on the wild side.

noelekal likes this.
  3. proximal Sep 16, 2015

You might not have to trim it at all.

4. falcon4311 Sep 16, 2015

Really, the sanding sounds the safest, with a blade, one it's it, it cut. Proximal could be right. but the 20mm on my deployant is pretty tight, if I force it I can get about 1mm exposed.

5. happytapy Sep 16, 2015

I realised after writing this that you are probably looking for an Omega strap. But still........

Why not try Waccex Accessories. 20/18 in Cognac or Reddish Brown. Seems they have a few, as well as Rios. Really good straps and reasonably priced too.

Easy to slip with any form of modding on a 21mm, rotary tool or knife. I've tried before and failed.

But, you could try some of those very cheap square edged leather punches. I did a CF strap recently that did not have a tang slot. Worked really well with 2 taps of a small engineering hammer. Mind you, it was in the centre of the strap, so had good shouldering. Taking off 0.5mm each side is probably too small and after all, half a mil is probably easy to squeeze in between the lugs. Might make getting the spring bar in and out a bit of an effort though.

Good Luck.

Edited Sep 16, 2015
  6. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! Sep 16, 2015