Forums Latest Members
  1. cookiecookie Jan 8, 2016

OMEGA De Ville Antique..
    Can you guys tell me about the watch?
    I've started collecting watches just recently and since I'm a broke university student, I was only able to buy cheap brands and "luxury" brands (armani)
    I thought to myself, 'I really can't call myself a watch enthusiast without proper education...
    So, I am thinking about buying this Omega watch for less than 200 $
    I know, for an omega watch it's waaay below the price it should be.
    Don't hate me for not appreciating the value of the Omega series; I'm only a beginner.
    I'm pretty sure the seller redialed and refurbished it but for me it's still the first omega.
    So I just wanted to ask you guys to rate it... if its fake just tell me straight out.
    Thanks guys.

s-l64.jpg s-l500 (1).jpg s-l500 (2).jpg s-l500 (3).jpg s-l500.jpg
  2. devnull Jan 8, 2016

It's a quartz watch. To me that's the kiss of death on just about all but a few select pieces, and I still don't like those.

Heck there is some vintage legit stuff in the $200 range. Look through watchrecon.com for some examples.

Francis_Assisi likes this.
  3. cookiecookie Jan 8, 2016

Yeah, I've heard that quartz watches get a lot of hate by watch enthusiasts... .
    but I also think it really depends on the person too...
    I mean, It's a omega for pete's sake
    Wish it was automatic myself, but they're all too heavily priced for the common college kid.
    thanks for the reply

4. devnull Jan 8, 2016

You are correct but here's the problem; eventually you'll become a watch enthusiast and learn to hate them as much as everybody else does :D

Be careful, there are some craptastic Omegas out there that are correctly priced, and that doesn't make them a bargain.

noelekal likes this.
  5. cookiecookie Jan 8, 2016

True. Once I am able to make money after college I would probably spending more on watches...