Forums Latest Members
  1. nubblebast Dec 10, 2015

Hi,
    im very new to luxury watches and this forum and i think i just made a terrible mistake (please dont get mad with me).
    I always wanted to have an old, clean, puristic omega watch.
    Now i spend 300$ on ebay for a watch that might be fake although the seller sold quite a few omega watches without any negative reviews.

What makes me wondering:
    1. It says it is gold filled instead of pure gold.
    2. The bottom has a different color?
    3. The Omega Symbol is really close to the letters. There is no space between the symbol and the text

What do you guys think?

$_57 (1).JPG $_57 (4).JPG $_57 (5).JPG $_57 (6).JPG $_57.JPG

2. Joe K. Curious about this text thingy below his avatar Dec 10, 2015

Don't want to sound harsh, but I think you need to do more research and learn more about these watches before attempting to buy one.
    FWIW - the watch is not a fake and the reasons you listed (1,2) have nothing to do with authenticity.
    As far as point 3 - this is likely the result of a poor redial .

PatrickJ and nubblebast like this.
  3. noelekal Home For Wayward Watches Dec 10, 2015

Never fear. True experts will be along shortly.

Over the years, Omega has produced a number of watches with gold-filled cases and having stainless steel backs. For your watch to be marked "gold-filled" is not an indication that it's a fake.

The watch's dial has been refinished as indicated by the alignment issue with the marking and the symbol as you have observed. The font used for "Omega" appears incorrect for an Omega watch of this age but let's see what others say.

PatrickJ and nubblebast like this.
  4. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Dec 10, 2015

Gold capped has been worn through on the bottom lugs.
    Redialled and wrong crown.
    $300 is not that bad a noob tax, some have payed a lot more :whistling:

Buckeyes#1, George.A, Severin and 7 others like this.
  5. marturx Dec 10, 2015