Forums Latest Members

How to buy (here on OF ) from a seller outside US

1. mayankyadav Feb 10, 2018

Hello, I have seen several sale posts for watches that I so badly wanted tod buy but couldn’t as sellers were outsode US.
    I have no experience with that kind of a transaction in US. Once I shipped a big 70 inch TV to India from US and it took my family back home more than 2 months to finally satisfy customs and sales tax departments by providing hundred kinds of proofs, notorize statements, sales tax etc.

Is it the same in US as well? How to ge customs/duty clearance (is there any other kind of tax too?) for a watch that I decide to buy from a seller who is shipping from outside US ?

Or these taxes are not applicable to used stuffs ( watches in this case)?

Another thing I was wondering why do Aussies sell their watches cheaper than Americans here on OF ?

watch3s likes this.
  2. AnotherDon Feb 10, 2018

Buying a watch from outside the US can be tricky. First, there is an import tax on a watch whether it is new or used. It makes no difference. The amount of the tax is based on the value of the watch. The import tax on a watch is complicated. At the risk of over-simplifying, there are values on the strap/bracelet, the case, and the movement. There are differing rates on the case and bracelet depending on the metal. Precious metals are more than steel. There are differing rates on the movement depending on the number of jewels. I think it maxes out at 17 jewels. The average total rate that I have paid on the 10 or so watches that I have imported over the years has run between 1% and 2% of the value of the watch.

But, don't let that scare you. Most of the major carriers...Fedex, UPS, and DHL...will work out the amount of the customs tax and make you pay it before they will deliver the watch.