Forums Latest Members
  1. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 22, 2013

For some strange and unusual reason, in spite of being a computer systems engineer with a background in microelectronics, I'm strongly attracted to fine pieces of mechanical engineering. I like my watches mechanical, I like my cars with three pedals and a stick, and for some reason, I'm strongly attracted to the Leica M rangefinder system.

Now I should also mention, Trev is much the opposite, he's been telling me I'm crazy for wanting a stupidly expensive, manual focus, 1950s designed camera that's more of a curiosity than a piece of serious kit.

So I'm sitting on the fence a little bit here. For some intangible reason, I see a second hand Leica M9 with a 50mm Summilux Asph in my future, yet I'm not a professional photographer or even close to it, just a nerd that absolutely loves toys, and as boring as I found the process of taking images with a DSLR, the Leica rangefinder system just seems fascinating... and something I would really appreciate and enjoy.

Tough call is that it costs a mid range Rolex to find out if I'm an idiot or not :)

Carlos9626, CajunTiger and mikekchc like this.
  2. SpikiSpikester @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 22, 2013

I'm pretty sure Dennis will let you know the answer to that for a lot less than the cost of a Rollie ::bleh::

3. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 22, 2013

I'm thinking of adding the world Rollie to the forum's censoring software, it sounds like something you'd hear an old bloke saying at a Boca Raton pawn shop. :p

But this isn't about Rollie's, its about Leicas :)

Paulomega likes this.
  4. Gavin It's the quiet ones you have to 'watch' out for. Jul 22, 2013

I don't own one but I have toyed with the idea of getting one. Now I really want a Sony RX1 even though I am not a serious photographer. I just want to take better better pictures of the watches.

5. Trev The Architect Staff Member Jul 22, 2013

[​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]