Forums Latest Members

How did you guys start collecting Omegas? (question about funds)

1. Uncle Seiko Aug 25, 2015

Hey guys, I joined this forum two years ago but just started posting this week. I am falling hard for vintage Omegas, but by the time I get to the price, I am taken aback. I have 4 kids, make a humble salary, and vintage Seikos have been my brand of choice since about 2000. I am hoping to land a vintage Omega chronograph in the near future, but the question keeps coming to mind, so I figured I would ask. How can you guys afford to build a collection with Omegas? Or what advice would you give to someone just starting out? At this point my MOST expensive watch is a 6105 diver which runs about $1200-$1500 (my average watch is worth $200-$400). Is everyone just independently wealthy? ;)

Be gracious :D

2. lillatroll Aug 25, 2015

I am a secondary school teacher, I dont earn fantastic money. I put away a bit of money every month and can buy a few watches each year. I think the key it to find the watches you want and save for them, while it feels that vintage watches rocket in price every year a fair proportion of them dont increase that much. If you save even a modest amount then before you know it you will have the funds to buy the watches you want. I took this approach when saving for a vintage Porsche, just putting 200pound away each month, after 5 or 6 years it added up to a fair amount and I was not far off my goal when I met my wife and the porsche turned into a wedding fund, but you get the point. If you want to buy new then, at least in the uk, you can buy on credit at 0% intrest over a few years. I would recommend putting away what you can afford and going after one watch. Spending is about priorities and you wioll be surprised at where you can save money without really noticing it. You could trade in some of your seikos, or sell the kids:whistling: if that is an option.

flw and Uncle Seiko like this.