Forums Latest Members

How badly does the gray market hurts dealers and boutiques?

1. Desibaba Apr 6, 2019

I work as a sales manager in the auto industry and I would be pretty upset if people walked in all day long to test drive and see our vehicles only to buy them for substantially less online. I recently bought a brand new omega ploprof that has a msrp of $9400 for $5439.64 shipped to my door from chrono 24 including tax and shipping. I even went to the local omega boutique and their watchmaker sized the rubber band for my wrist for free which was a pretty lenthy process. So how do the sales associates who Im assuming work for commissions at these stores still manage to make a living if everyone is buying gray market for so much less?

2. 77deluxe Apr 6, 2019

Possibly due to getting the inventory at practically cost and selling at a markup. I don’t know what a GM seller’s basis is, but probably more.

3. dennisthemenace Hey, he asked for it! Apr 6, 2019

So you would be pretty upset if someone did you out of a sale by buying online, yet you were happy to do exactly that yourself.
    Am I missing something here?

4. nismo Apr 6, 2019

I doubt they are hurting AD/OBs as much as people would like to think given such substantial price differences at times. For instance, a customer may not be able to afford a watch at MSRP, but 30%+ below now is an option. So Omega therefore gains a customer it otherwise would not have been able to. That customer now can be sold accessories via AD/OBs as well as servicing work for the life of the watch if the owner chooses to use them for that as well.

connieseamaster likes this.
  5. hbombkid Apr 6, 2019

I think grays help the business as they move the less attractive pieces with a discount.

Omega and the AD are still making money maybe not as much as if they sold it themselves but profit is profit.

6. asrnj77 Apr 6, 2019