Forums Latest Members
  1. pmcgarry Jul 27, 2014

I have my Dads old seamaster on the inside of the cover
    it has E20408 it is a 501 cal with a number of 16515431 on the movement .it is also in a 14 k case
    any help would be very much appreciated Thanks Peter

2. bieb1 Jul 27, 2014

Dear Peter, welcome to the forum. There are many knowledgeable people here willing to help, but it would help us/them if you would be a bit more specific about the kind of help you are looking for? Also, posting some pictures of the watch, close up of the dial, movement and inside case back would help a lot.

3. pmcgarry Jul 28, 2014

4. pmcgarry Jul 28, 2014

I hope this helps looking for the age and value thanks Pete

5. bieb1 Jul 29, 2014

Thanks Pete, this helps quite a bit. The movement number would date the watch to around 1958/59 and as you already noted, it is a Seamaster with a cal. 501 movement. There are many collectors for Seamaster watches, but condition and originality is everything. And in solid gold, they would of course be more valuable, especially if they have a matching gold bracelet.

For your watch, the dial looks quite damaged and this in all likelihood cannot be fixed without refinishing or replacing the dial. This would reduce its value for collectors, but in this case I am not sure if your dial is original to begin with. Most of the examples from that period have different hour markers and so-called dauphine hands (triangular shaped) wheras yours has stick or "baton" hands which I think date to the mid-sixties. The picture of the inside case back is too vague, but I can see scratched dates in two or three spots. These would be marks of watch makers and will show the past service dates. It would have been quite common for the dial and hands to have been replaced during one of those services.