Forums Latest Members
  1. Deano Oct 25, 2015

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg Hi I am new to vintage watches I have inherited this watch of my grandad who passed away earlier this year could somebody please tell me something about it and how much it might be worth it is on a 9 carrt gold chain. Much thanks dean

noelekal likes this.
  2. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Oct 25, 2015

It's worth keeping and cherishing.

Nice dial...

Deano likes this.
  3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Oct 25, 2015

Well, it's obviously an Omega movement. Case was made by the Dennison Watch Case Company in England and the serial number dates the movement to approx 1930.

The case isn't hallmarked so it would most likely be brass with gold plating.

The caliber (or movement) number under the balance can't bee seen, but a measurement across the movement will help to identify the caliber, maybe a Caliber 37.6L.

While they didn't have "Seamaster" or "Speedmaster" names for the watches in the 30s, this may have been referred to as an "Omega Art Deco Lépine" based on the period and the style.

Due to the limited number of pocket watch collectors, value is not that high and the gold chain adds little value as it's only worth the scrap gold content.

The best thing to do is find a reputable watchmaker and have it serviced but not "restored".

And the you can enjoy it as your grandfather obviously did.

Cheers

Jim

Edited Oct 25, 2015
    ConElPueblo likes this.
  4. Deano Oct 26, 2015

Thanks for your reply I have no intentions of selling as it was passed on to me ( well unless somebody tells me it's worth millions haha ) but I am fascinated by it and its history

5. Deano Oct 26, 2015