Forums Latest Members

Help with Longines Admiral

1. elbrowno Mar 17, 2019

Hi, I'm a vintage watch newbie (apart from my grandfather's no-longer-working Constellation f300hz), but I'm considering a purchase of a 60s Longines Admiral cal 342 on ebay, and I thought it odd that the rotor is engraved with a barely readable "Grand Prize" and partial Longines logo. I guess this is a frankenwatch of some sort? This would be a gift to my 21-year-old son, who wants a vintage watch for aesthetic reasons rather than collector or resale value -- but who knows, maybe this will be stage one of the vintage watch collection bug. What should I be concerned about with this watch? The seller does take returns, so that's a plus.

Thanks, Longines lovers, for any advice.

Listing: https://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-LO...NS-WATCH-STAINLESS-STEEL-CAL-342/312526830976Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network
    s-l1600.jpg s-l1600-2.jpg

2. BenBagbag Mar 17, 2019

What's going on with the 11 o'clock lug? Looks scooped out or bent. Any other pics?

3. elbrowno Mar 17, 2019

These were the only additional pics. Not sure they'll help with the lug question. s-l1600-4.jpg s-l1600-3.jpg s-l1600-5.jpg

4. Spruce Sunburst dial fan Mar 17, 2019

I’m a fan of Longines 60s watches like this. They are classic watches with good movements and, at present, still comparatively well priced. They have a justifiable cachet.
    This one looks nice and is reasonably priced and, on the basis that 1) you can return it if you don’t like it, and 2) you can return it if it doesn’t match the fairly confident seller’s description, you can probably bid up nearer the end of the auction, if you decide to go for it.
    You’ve got over two days to research before you get to the nitty. You're competing with a few bidders so you may want to do a bid of research: