Forums Latest Members
  1. thickman Jun 5, 2018

I am new to vintage watches and this forum. I would appreciate OF members input on this watch. This is my first post asking about the condition of a watch, so please let me know if I am missed something.

My observations of the watch in question, a CK2141, are as follows:

Dial: The dial is clean, perhaps too clean. There is some small damage around the subdial and a chip close to the 11. There is no Swiss Made on the dial; but during the 30's and early 40's many did not have Swiss Made on the dial, and therefore is accurate for the era. The Omega has the cut off A; but during this era the A was done by the dial maker and both the cut off A and the full A are acceptable. The only worrying sign I see is just how amazing the dial appears to be.

Hands: The hands look unworn, are not broken, and seem to be the correct length for the dial.

Case: Sharp and clean with no signs of polishing. The case does appear to be NOS.

Crown: Correct for the era with no logo.

Buckle: The buckle appears period correct. It contains the appropriate marks on the back side and no logo on the clasp.

Case Back: Markings are correct with Swiss Made, Omega logo, and case serial number. Case number matches the extract. Appears to be correct to my untrained eye.

Movement: The R17.8 Movement has not been serviced according to the seller. I have verified the look of the movement with the pink pages (ranfft.de). When I zoom in on the photo the two smaller gear wheels look very aged. It has all of its screws holding it in and I see no signs of damage or harsh wear. One concern, as stated above, is that the picture is clearly different from the ones the seller has taken. However, the serial number matches the extract. Movement will need a service, but otherwise looks appropriate.