Forums Latest Members

Help with a Longines watch I have found

1. WhereMadnessLies Aug 19, 2018

Afternoon guys,

I'm fairly new to this hobby of watch collecting and I'm looking for a little help in identifying this Longines watch that I have stumbled across in a local antiques shop. It appears to be in good condition and it is running (its manual wind). The strap isn't original, I'm not sure about the rest of the watch? What do you guys think? It's also up for £795, does this seem about right?

IMG_20180819_152437.jpg IMG_20180819_152443.jpg IMG_20180819_152456.jpg

Many thanks for you help.

Jerseyhammer and Andsan like this.
  2. Radiumpassion Aug 19, 2018

Can it be a solid gold watch with caliber 30L If so, how many carats?

In my opinion it's a pretty plain watch, and the price is too high:)

Syrte and WhereMadnessLies like this.
  3. S.H. Aug 19, 2018

Yes, a nice watch but plain, I would pass at this price; you should probably add a service even if it is "running".

In my experience, you usually have 8-15g of 18k gold in such a watch; at most 300eur worth of gold (scrap value), to be added to the value of a plain Longines. If it is 14k or 9k, much less. £795 without guarantee/service would be too high for me.

Maybe check the price of a service in your area, talk to (at least one) repair workshop, before buying in antiques shop/on the web. Better safe than sorry!

WhereMadnessLies likes this.
  4. Canuck Aug 19, 2018

I always have to convert £ to $ (Cdn.) with posts like this. That is $1,320.00 (Cdn.) seems high to me. As has been stated, very often, gold watches sell for the price of a steel one, plus scrap gold value. That is, unless the gold watch is a/ rare, b/ unusual, and c/ in exceptional condition, and has box and papers. In that case, pay what you have to before someone else stumbles onto it. Maybe offer them £500.00, and if they turn it down, go back in a month. They might have softened up a bit if the watch is still there.