Forums Latest Members
  1. mikromiksu Jul 16, 2018

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to get my first vintage watch and I've been eye balling a lot of vintage omegas lately. I'm especially interested in 60's constellations. As mentioned I'm total newbie into this "game" so I'd appreciate some help here.

I found this 168.015 constellation from ebay. I like the look of this style more than piepans, just my personal preference. I'm trying to verify if it's original from the outside. I've tried to do some "homework" by myself and here are things im wondering:
    The dial. I tried to google this particular model and from what I've found the baton at 12 o'clock should be doubled. Also the letter M's are not straight, which is the case in examples that I found. The second marks next to date window also seem to be quite "stronger" than in other watches I've seen.
    The crown. I guess this is correct crown for this model although it differs from other constellations I've seen?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

It's said to be serviced 3 years ago but seller doesn't have any papers of this or pictures of the movement. Watch is said to be running "fine" though. What do you think of this watch, worth the shot at around 400€? This model is monocoque and from what I've understood the servicing can get relatively expensive?
    Thank you in advance for your help!

2. Noddyman Jul 16, 2018

Hi,
    On the outside (with exception of the crown) it all looks good to me.
    Most of these have a single baton at 12, possibly you are looking at the 168.025 models?
    I have seen these with both straight and splayed M's so don't think that's an issue.
    The case condition is very good and still retains all its edges.
    On the inside it should have a CAL 564 from 1966 onwards. It may prove difficult to get photos of the movement as it comes out through the front on these. Worth asking though!
    At €400 I think its a bargain.