Forums Latest Members
  1. Aesculapius Feb 25, 2014

Hello, All!

I'm new to vintage Omega watches but not to watches in general. I have recently inherited a gold-cased Seamaster auto from my late father-in-law. I have had real difficulty finding a match on any reference sites (including Omega's own vintage database). Although it's marked as a Seamaster, it seems to have more in common with mid-50s Constellations. I know the provenance as my FiL owned this watch from about (or just before) 1960 but after over fifty years there is now no case and no papers. The case is approx. 35mm and the movement is a 354 "bumper" automatic and keeps reasonably good time although I'm sure a service wouldn't be a bad idea. The face and batons look immaculate although there's a little patina on the hands. It has most recently been on an "Excalibur" expandable bracelet in rolled gold but I took it off to photograph the watch and, to be honest, it's not a look that works for me and I'd much rather see it back on an understated leather strap and let the watch stand out!

There is a family story from my mother-in-law that this watch suffered somewhat during a service at a jewellers many years ago (no idea when): they had always thought that the case was gold rather than plated and it seems likely the watch was relieved of some of its original features during this service, although they could never prove it so found it difficult to address the issue at the time -- certainly the current crown and case back are not original.