Forums Latest Members
  1. Bishness Oct 5, 2016

Hi, newbie here...

I found this during my mother-in-law's house clearance. I think my father-in-law used to wear it but that means it hasn't been worn for over 20 years. I've had a look on t'Net but I can't work out what model it is, what year or any idea of the value of it. One "expert" suggested that the dial had been restored but if so, it wasn't recent. Obviously, the engraving on the back might be an issue - it's not his name and I don't know how it came into his possession although he was a jewellery shop manager so perhaps as a part exchange?

I'd appreciate any feedback. We are looking to sell this but struggling to know if it's worth the effort.

Thanks,
    Bishness

P1050729.JPG P1050731.JPG
  2. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Oct 5, 2016

Looking at it closely, I think the 'expert' is correct about the dial having been refinished.

Also, there is lume on the markers, but no 'T's at "Swiss Made", so either lume was added, the 'T's were left off when refinishing the dial, or the watch is from the post-radium period ~'63 when the lume changed to tritium but Ts were not yet required. Also the lume application looks messy, so I am guessing it is not original.

I suspect you will need to have the case opened in order to get the model # and movement #; only then will you really know what you have.

3. Bishness Oct 5, 2016

Thanks BlackTalon, looks like my expert was an expert after all! I've had the back off and it's a 501. There's a serial no(?) on the movement - 15876572.
    What else am I looking for?

4. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Oct 5, 2016

Is there a 4-6 digit # on the inside face of the caseback?

Post a pic of it, as well as one of the movement. That will be very helpful to the real knowledgeable people here.

5. Bishness Oct 5, 2016

There are a few numbers: 315.164 and 2846-2848

P1050734.JPG P1050735.JPG
  6. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Oct 5, 2016