Forums Latest Members
  1. immigtc Nov 24, 2015

This looks like an awesome forum and I hope to get more involved. I am looking to make my first luxury watch purchase and have narrowed my search down to a Rolex Submariner or the Omega Seamaster Professional. The Rolex is a little more than I want to spend right now but will revisit in the future.

That being said I have been looking for a gently pre-owned 2531.80, 2220.80, or 212.30.41.20.03.001. I am new to this so my first question is what should I be looking for? Is Box and papers the best way? Is it really safe to buy from the forums as someone has suggested?

I was going through the awards offers available on my Amex and there was on offer for a $450 statement credit on a $1500 purchase from Gray and Sons in Miami. They have a watch that fits the bill but at $3300 seems very high. I contacted them and they are willing to reduce to $2950 so with the statement credit that's $2500. Is that reasonable? I haven't spoken to them yet so I am not sure what the watch comes with other than there 1 year warranty (I would think that Amex would extend that out another year as is their practice but will check since its pre-owned). Are they a reputable dealer (the affiliation with Amex makes me think so but figured this forum might be a great place to pass the smell test).

Thanks!

2. lillatroll Nov 24, 2015

The price depends on how old it is and condition. If you do a search on chrono 24 and a sold search on ebay, you should have an idea of what you should be paying. You should also get it looked over if you buy a watch which will cost a bit of money. I wouldn't worry about box and papers unless it is fairly new. I think you can trust the sellers on here. Try kringkily on here, his reputation is as good as it gets.
    Good luck with your search

3. abrod520 Nov 24, 2015

I've got the same offer, plus if you sign up for their email list you get a coupon for $200 off your first purchase.