Forums Latest Members

Help on identifying conditions of this vintage Seamaster

1. Umapius Feb 26, 2017

Hello, i've watching a listing on this vintage Seamaster. Having learned from this amazing forum, I started to check the reference & serial numbers, etc.
    However I have no experience assessing the conditions of some watches, especially those that look not very clean, like this one. I dont know what to think of, for example, the dial. Do you call it "patina" or "dirty" and faded text? And the crown, although signed, is it original?
    Can you please take a look on these pictures. Your remarks and opinions on the authenticity and conditions of this Seamaster are highly appreciated.
    File_000.jpeg File_001.jpeg File_002.jpeg File_003.jpeg File_004.jpeg File_005.jpeg File_006.jpeg File_007.jpeg File_008.jpeg File_009.jpeg

2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Feb 26, 2017

Real stainless steel 166.010 with a 562 movement. You can check to see if those match via a google search.

Dial has been cleaned which took of some text, been polished and lost some sharpness on the lugs.

Signed Crown looks ok, google the reference to check it.

Umapius likes this.
  3. cristos71 Feb 26, 2017

Sorry, but I'd have to describe it as a very tired example of a not very interesting Seamaster reference.

Pass and look further, there are tons of fantastic Seamasters out there!

oddboy and Umapius like this.
  4. Umapius Feb 26, 2017

Yes, I've checked all the numbers. They seem all matched.
    Thank you, now I learned how to think of this dial condition. So it used to be even dirtier, with tiny bubbles showing humidity there inside the watch. Which is not good!

5. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Feb 26, 2017

May not be because of humidity but yes.

Umapius likes this.
  6. WatchmakerTheory Feb 26, 2017

Good observation, but might want to note that sometimes paint bubbles can occur for other reasons.