Forums Latest Members

Help needed with finding prices for a number of watches.

1. john.sx Jun 21, 2014

Hi everyone (apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place),

I need to find out what a number of watches (around 20) are worth (including 2 Omegas, Rolex and a number of brands I'm not familiar with). What's the best way to do this? (I'm a complete novice when it comes to watches). Do I take them all down to a watch shop to get valued? Is there a website that I can go to to get prices? Or is there someone / company who I can pay to get this done?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

2. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Jun 21, 2014

Best bet is to find past sales on ebay. Why do you want to know? Sale? Insurance? Just for interest?

Watch shops are unlikely to be the way to go. Vintage watches are a very specialty item, so unless you are somewhere that has a decent shop....

Also, bricks and mortar stores are usualy a LOT more expensive than ebay.

Why not post a few photos here, and we may be able to help.

john.sx likes this.
  3. john.sx Jun 21, 2014

Thanks, CanberraOmega. The watches are involved in an unfortunate divorce. Basically I need to make sure that my friend, who was gifted these watches by the (soon to be ex) father-in-law, is not being taken for a ride.

I'll try ebay, but I'm not sure how to search for the watches. I'm guessing that there'll be hundreds of listings.

Thanks for the tip about the shops.

4. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Jun 21, 2014

Tell your friend to find the jeweler with the best reputation in his city, pay for their time and get a written appraisal. You don't want to mess around here to save a few bucks.

Just my 2 cents,
    gatorcpa

john.sx likes this.
  5. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Jun 22, 2014

agree, given the purpose.

john.sx likes this.
  6. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jun 22, 2014