Forums Latest Members

Help! I'm looking for advice on a particular date range for a gift

1. Nicky Sep 3, 2018

Hi all, it's my first time posting, but i've read loads of threads on here in my research in buying my own first Omega (a speedmaster reduced - but before you sigh, my wrist is just too small for a full sized pro and I totally love it!)
    It's my partner's birthday coming up, and he's been caught browsing some speedmasters when he thinks i'm not looking and i thought it might be a nice idea to surprise him with one too.

My dilemma is I'd like to find one that has some sort of significance or meaning since it's for a special birthday, and i'm going around in circles trying to find something that fits the bill - I hoped I could at least get some suggestions on a model to hunt for from those of you who know WAY more than I do about these beauties!

So, here's the criteria I've been working on so far...
    1991 and 2000 are both really significant years for him
    An Olympic edition from 2000would be a huge bonus - particularly if it had a black face (easier for old eyes to read)
    The broad arrow speedmasters would also tick a box, as the connection is Archery
    I'd like to if at all possible keep it around $3000 - am i dreaming, or is it possible to find something that will fit in that price range?

I haven't been able to find an olympic edition from 2000 - did they not make one? I don't think a Swatch watch would have the same impact as a speedy as a birthday gift somehow.... ;)

TIA!!

2. divetime Sep 3, 2018

connieseamaster likes this.
  3. Nicky Sep 3, 2018