Forums Latest Members

Help Identifying Omega Seamaster - believe Cal. 562

1. cjolly Sep 5, 2016

I was recently given an Omega watch from father that he's had for sometime. He believes its Cal. 562 from the 60's but thought it could be from early 70's too. Any help identifying it is appreciated.

Great watch, very elegant. Lots of questions from people when I wear it but I have little information and knowledge.

Is it recommended to get the crystal replaced or have it cleaned up or semi restored. I enjoy the way it looks but could use a little bit of cleaning however don't want to ruin the vintage look/appeal in any way. Have not owned a vintage watch before and looking forward to keeping in the family for future generations.

IMG_1326.jpg IMG_1327[1].jpg IMG_1331.jpg
    Edited Sep 5, 2016
  2. WatchWarlock Sep 6, 2016

It is certainly from the 60's but you would need to see the movement serial number to get the exact year. Unfortunately the dial is a redial and it has a replacement crown. If it has sentimental value, you can have it serviced and cleaned up.

3. cjolly Sep 6, 2016

Thanks for the response and its more sentimental then anything. Is it worth it to try and get it back to original state? Or is it common to leave as is at this point and if you have your heart set on a true original that hasn't been touched to go buy that?

4. WatchWarlock Sep 6, 2016

You would have to get an exact dial for it to be back to "original." Finding a correct dial, plus the cost of servicing, crown replacement, etc would likely be costlier than the watch is worth. I would hold on to that piece, and focus on getting a good example of what you actually want.

5. cjolly Sep 6, 2016

6. cjolly Sep 6, 2016

Thanks again for the comments and suggestions.

7. GuiltyBoomerang Sep 6, 2016