Forums Latest Members
  1. daveofedinburgh Dec 23, 2016

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg Hello all from a total beginner/ novice/ noob!

Looking for some help identifying my newly acquired but very old Omega.

No idea if it's even real, but suspect it pre-dates replica/ fake watches (although may be naive on my part).

Watch runs but is fast, afew minutes an hour. Otherwise in rather nice condition bar afew scratches on crystal/ case.

A casual Google found the Omega reference 162.009 looks quite similar to this to my (very) untrained eye.

Any help identifying/ valuing this watch would be greatly appreciated. I'd ask for advice on how to sort the fast running issue, but I'm 99% sure it'll be 'take it to the watchmaker'!

Thanks,

David

mikechi22 likes this.
  2. SpeedyAV Dec 23, 2016

::popcorn::

mr_yossarian likes this.
  3. ulackfocus Dec 23, 2016

Hi there. Let's see - decent pictures and avatar installed already..... we like you so far David!

A 162.xxx would be a man's automatic non-water resistant calendar watch so you're in the ballpark with that reference number. It looks like a 60's front loader (or maybe a snap back?) so it has a 56x inside.

It does NOT predate fakes but it IS authentic. Get it to a watchmaker to have it serviced. You're probably hurting the movement by using it while it's undoubtedly dirty.

EDIT: while it's at the watchmaker snap pictures of the movement and inside of the caseback that are clear enough to see the numbers.

Edited Dec 23, 2016
    Jwit likes this.
  4. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Dec 23, 2016

Quite a nice little Omega Automatic.

A clue to its value may lie here.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 2.18.37 PM.png

And on the subject of lugs, get rid of that flexi bracelet, they tend to chew holes in the lugs, especially on solid gold watches.

Your best friend right now would be a good watchmaker.

5. daveofedinburgh Dec 24, 2016

Thanks for you help thus far guys, a great welcome!