Forums Latest Members
  1. Saiming Aug 23, 2014

First post here we go!

I am completely new to vintage watches, after having looked around for a few days I felt that Omega are the watches that really appeal to me.

Alright I have been trying to research and educated my prior to a purchase by reading as much as I can and observing what experienced users deem fake or a frankenwatch - it is really overwhelming how much knowledge you all have! I have learnt a bit about determining production year from the serial number, and the type of watch from the case reference - I even tried using the omegawatch database to help determine the authenticity of watches, but it seems like non of my inputs worked!

What I have appreciated is that there is so much detail, and there are levels of detail that determine how "pure" a timepiece is, depending on the subjective perception of a collector. And due to the level of knowledge and the seemingly exponential knowledge curve required to analyse every timepiece I thought I would ask for some help.

Having said this, I wouldn't consider myself a purist, since I do not even know what to look at in order to consider myself one! The bottomline is that I want my first watch to be authentic and that works in daily use. Ideally I would like the entire watch to be authentic. Moreover, I feel that the movement has to be authentic, and preferably the dial too. I do not mind if the leather straps aren't seeing as I can change them quite easily.

Sorry for the newbie blabbering - the veterans here must be shaking their heads by now.

Here are some prospects:

http://www.tradera.com/item/190118/213669834/omega-seamaster-mekanisk-herr-klocka-i-stal

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OMEGA-SEA...es_Watches_MensWatches_GL&hash=item19f2159887Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network