Forums Latest Members

Hello! I am new to vintage Omega, is this a good deal for $850?

1. sirkrimzon Feb 13, 2019

Hey guys, hope you are all well. I am currently looking at this 1952 Omega that was serviced by the owner last month, and was wondering if I am getting a good deal? The seller says it is all original parts and works well.

Here are some pictures.
    https://imgur.com/a/m2aW3rE
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]My only concern is in this picture
    https://i.imgur.com/UlFAjA9.jpg
    By 12 and 6 o clock (on the photo, not the watch), notice how the grooves for the caseback are deformed. Would this be a issue opening up the watch in the future?

Also, around 9 o clock, notice the crack in the case back.

Are either of these a true issue in your opinion or more cosmetic? The watch itself is gorgeous and I have the opportunity to buy it at a great price. Any help at all would be appreciated!

2. sirkrimzon Feb 13, 2019

I plan on using this mainly as a dress watch. The water resistance concerns remove chances of this being a true "every day" watch (even if it was back in the 50s).

3. fskywalker Feb 13, 2019

I don't think those 2 deformed grooves would be a big deal as there are other grroves in the caseback.

4. WYO_Watch Feb 13, 2019

You should really help people help you by posting photos (people don’t like following links).

Anyway, the watch is not a good deal IMO. Although the watch has a nice look to it, it’s far from perfect and that’s some serious dough for a rather run of the mill piece. The case looks polished and I am not sure if it’s the photos or the lower left lug but it looks like there are issues. The dial has patina, although not unattractive it’s overpriced. Can’t see the logo on the crown, and you have zero movement pics. I tend to distrust the “just serviced” line, but always do when they provide no movement shots.

5. WYO_Watch Feb 13, 2019

Turns out there are movement pics... whoops :whistling: proof it’s helpful!