Forums Latest Members
  1. SpeedBird 1982 Apr 24, 2017

Hello All,

I have a beautiful new Omega Speedmaster "TinTin" that I've been wearing around for a few months. I travel for work and usually end up in pretty safe places. However, being a rather sizeable investment I'm curious if anyone has found a way to insure their watch from theft or loss that makes sense. Any advise greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Brian

mokofoko likes this.
  2. glownyc Apr 24, 2017

If you do a search you'll find threads about insurance. Many people add it on to home insurances.

SpikiSpikester and Larry S like this.
  3. w.finkenstaedt Apr 24, 2017

Everything I own over $1000 is itemized and insured. You bet your ass my Omega's are on that list.

SpeedBird 1982 likes this.
  4. Fatcat Apr 24, 2017

Insure you watches on a specific contract should be around 1% of the value , covers about stolen, broken, fire whatever at least in Switzerland .

lando likes this.
  5. blufinz52 Hears dead people, not watch rotors. Apr 24, 2017

6. Jones in LA Isofrane hoarder. Apr 24, 2017

I have a few watches insured with Jeweler's Mutual (link in post above ^^^). The annual premium is about 2% of the insured value. It appears to be a reputable company but I haven't had to make a claim so I can't speak to how that process may go.

Richmortrd likes this.
  7. McJamesT Apr 24, 2017

I added my TinTin (great choice by the way ;)) to the homeowners policies like ive done with my other watches. Should be an easy process

mokofoko likes this.
  8. R3D9 Apr 24, 2017

Canadian here - my watches are insured under my home insurance policy for all perils and a zero deductible (for the first claim - it would go up if I ever made a claim) and it costs me $30-$80 per year per watch (depending upon the relative value of the timepiece).

If you own any watches over $1k, you'd be crazy not to have them insured.

9. Sculler22 Apr 24, 2017

Scheduled on my homeowner's policy for all risks, zero deductible.