Forums Latest Members

Had my first in-depth conversation with a human being about watches today..

1. Jaacck Apr 27, 2017

So this may seem like a fairly mundane part of my day to mention in a thread but thought I would share my experience.

I am an estate agent and my role is to do all the valuations for the branch, with this I meet plenty of people and always keep a keen eye as to what watch they are wearing. I had my Speedmaster on today and on a valuation noticed the gentleman had a Seamster with a blue strap on. I complemented him on the watch and he went on to say he got it for his 50th and spoke of other watches he had which then lead onto us discussing movements etc.

Was quite refreshing to speak to somebody else with the same interest as myself in person, being 25 I rarely/never seem to speak to anybody with a watch interest and was pleasant to discuss this in person instead of over the internet for a change.

Anybody else remember the first time they properly spoke to a stranger about watches in person? ( I am yet to attend a time4apint but I think it may be due! )

The watch he had on - 17331283_1_460.jpg

ahartfie, pippy, OMGRLX and 6 others like this.
  2. khanmu Apr 27, 2017

My wife.. it was me trying to explain my hobby. She looked at me strangely and asked "but why don't you just use your iPhone?" ::facepalm1::

After that, very similar to you, spotted an Omega Ploprof on a client, and asked him about it, which lead to long discussions on Seamaster vs Speedy, Omega vs Rolex etc etc

ahartfie, OMGRLX, BrianMcKay and 5 others like this.
  3. michael22 Apr 27, 2017

Never.

Jaacck likes this.
  4. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Apr 27, 2017