Forums Latest Members
  1. cosmofox Nov 30, 2017

Dear Forum,

May I please ask your input on a vintage 60s 565 seamaster? I am hoping to buy this from an online seller and am preoccupied with any stated "refurbishment" of an authentic dial. Is there any version of refurbishing that does not tamper with the integrity of the dial?

Here are some pictures from a watch which has interested me and which I have enquired after with the seller:

10.PNG 9.PNG 8.PNG 7.PNG 6.PNG 5.PNG 4.PNG 3.PNG 2.PNG 1.PNG

Also, can you please let me know what you think is a fair price for this watch?

Apologies in advance for any silly questions - this is my first time buying and I am looking for a real as well as affordable seamaster to give as a gift which will last a long time. I would be endlessly grateful for any pointers you have.

THANK YOU!!

2. Gordon Heavyfoot Nov 30, 2017

This watch is refinished. The vast majority of black dials from this period are redials. You've done the right thing in asking before you buy. Refinishing a dial generally doesn't affect the "integrity" of the dial itself, it is merely the process of stripping an original dial down, repainting and reapplying indices, etc. It drastically reduces value and desirability to a collector. However, if you like the look of the watch and don't overpay, go for it. Just be aware that resale value will be much reduced. I wouldn't pay more than a couple hundred dollars for that example. Keep an eye out in the private watch sales section here, many excellent examples come up for sale.

mydeafcat likes this.
  3. cosmofox Nov 30, 2017

Oh that makes me so sad. Thanks so much for the valuable input. For future consideration, how can I tell in these black dial models if the watch is refinished? I am not interested in purchasing a repainted dial. Thanks !

4. dan7800 Nov 30, 2017

Usually if a black dial looks like it is in great shape, it has been refinished/redialed.