Forums Latest Members
  1. Seamaster Mar 11, 2012

Hello,

just used your search engine but could not find a match for my request, so I am going to ask for your support.

I have the oppurtunity to buy a Seamster Cosmic (see atteched pic). As I am not really experienced with ancient Omegas I am interested to gather some information e.g.: what kind of caliber is used (571, I was told, correct? its a monocoque case, no opening at bottom), is it reliable, and important: is this a real one where noone has "assembled" something . . . . . ? (I also checked Omegas vintage pages but could not find an answer either)

Thanks a lot for your support in advance!! Kind regards from the newbie (just joined after being a fellow or reading for a while here)

Foto147.jpg
  2. Wetworks Mar 11, 2012

Hi,

That looks to be a very nice example of a crosshair Cosmic. As for the movement, if it is an automatic it will likely have a caliber 552 inside. If it is manual, it'll have a caliber 601. I've never heard of a Cosmic with a 571, but what the heck do i know?!?!?:unsure:

3. nsmike Mar 11, 2012

4. Seamaster Mar 11, 2012

@wetworks: due the this nice appearance (your are right - I had them in hand and looks beautiful and not tiny) I am really into this fine watch but - nevertheless - need some recommendation. It is automatic. Maybe I mixed the number so here its probably me who is wrong;). Thank you.

@nsmike: thanks a lot for this link, I will immediately go through all this info!

5. nsmike Mar 11, 2012

I borrowed this photo from a closed ebay auction, it shows the font and layout, for a Cosmic automatic. CosmicAutomatic.jpg

6. ulackfocus Mar 11, 2012

The crosshair dialed Cosmic has a manual wind 600 series inside. It's probably a reference 135.0016 with a caliber 601, and the example you've posted appears to be correct - and pretty damn nice too. If it has any other movement it's a franken.