Forums Latest Members

Guess there is going to possibly be tax on everything again...yay....

1. Kringkily Omega Collector / Hunter Apr 28, 2015

2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Apr 28, 2015

I am not a tax expert. However I do understand in USA if an out of state person returns to his state with an untaxed item, or causes a delivery to his address of an item without paying his own state sales taxes, then the taxpayer is obliged to enter those purchases on his personal tax return and pay his local state taxes.

In practice not many people do, but every now and then art dealers (or similarly placed merchants) get audited and IRS goes to purchasers and sees if sales taxes have been collected.

So buy a $100,000 sculpture in New York and take it back to (say) Chicago and you are supposed to pay your sales tax at the end of the year through your tax return.

Now I am not a tax expert, I am however an enthusiastic avoider of investigators and I try not to do things that might interest them.

Love to hear if my understanding is correct

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Apr 28, 2015

Kinda sorta.

If I live in New York and go across the border to New Jersey and buy a watch from a brick and mortar store there, I get a credit against New Jersey use tax when I bring it back home. In essence, I'm supposed to pay the greater of the two taxes in total.

The states absolutely detest e-commerce and particularly eBay, because it is impossible for them to enforce their state's law against a seller in another state without physical presence in that state, The US Supreme Court upheld this principle in the Quill case mentioned in the Forbes article. You are correct that some states ask for a surcharge on state income tax returns for estimated use taxes on internet purchases. There are a few states that have no state income tax, so it is even more difficult to enforce the law in these states. My home state of Florida is one of these.