Forums Latest Members

Grandfather's Rose Gold Constellation from Early 50's?

1. Jimbo H. May 28, 2014

Hi Guys,

Complete watch novice here. I have some questions about an older watch that needs some work done. Hoping you guys could help out!

Backstory:

It was my Grandfather's watch, I think he wore it a bit when he was younger and the set it aside in a drawer, hadn't been warn in many years. Regrettably he passed away a few years back. It was passed on to my father.

The watch itself was a bit gunked up, the crystal was foggy and had a rather large scratch along with a plethora of small ones, and the second hand seemed to have misplaced itself at some point during it's life. Took it to an excellent local watch guy (Frank Seuss, Downtown Watch Repair San Francisco) on behalf of my dad. low and behold after some scrubbing and replacing the worn out/missing parts it came back beautiful. The only thing was that he could only find a replacement second hand in yellow gold, not rose, at the time. Additionally, the dial is worn and has some patina to it, but we decided it was fine to keep it that way. I've attached two pictures, but they don't really do the watch service. I have older junky cellphone--it really washes out all the colors if there isn't perfect studio lights. I can try and take some more this photos this weekend if y'all demand it. I was browsing around the forums here and found this: LinkPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network which seems to be very similar to what I have, not only in design but in color.