Forums Latest Members

"Grail" obtained... sell the rest?

1. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! May 21, 2015

How many of you are in this position? I have my Speedmaster Professional... I have my Watchco Seamaster 300... and I have almost no interest in wearing the rest of my watches! I even paid a lot to have some of them serviced.

So now I am wanting to sell them. Of course a part of me says "no, you fool, don't do that!" But I wore my Accutron to work this morning, and when I came home after a half day to work from home the rest of the day... I put the Accutron away and put the Seamaster 300 back on.

The only other watches I plan to keep are my great-grandfather's pocket watch and my 1917 Ingersoll Midget wristwatch with the new lume.

Tom

2. calalum May 21, 2015

If you need the money, sell. If you can wait, see how you feel over the next few months and then decide whether to sell or not. There are always a lot of threads about seller's remorse over letting go of pieces that people wish they had held on to.

NT931 and Matty01 like this.
  3. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! May 21, 2015

I did wait months. :)

Tom

4. calalum May 21, 2015

Well, only you can decide if you want and/or need to let them go.

5. Northernman Lemaniac May 21, 2015

Life as a collector is hard...... :D
    Too many watches, too few wrists!

erpin9, STANDY and Taddyangle like this.
  6. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! May 21, 2015

Perhaps that's my issue. I'm not a collector. I have some really nice stuff but once it all got put together... eh, don't care much any more.

Kinda weird, I know. I'm tempted to keep anything before 1920, because come on, how cool is that?

Tom

7. Lulu Bear May 21, 2015

As someone who would like to add to my collection of one, all I can say is: "sell, sell, sell!"

ulackfocus and Hijak like this.
  8. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! May 21, 2015