Good watch fortune to start the new year

Sorry. Images are posted in the 2nd post.

So about a year ago I was recklessly mucking about inside a Wakmann triple date/Val 730. It is a good watch but was keeping awful time, and I could see the hairspring was mangled, so I set about trying to straighten it. At this point, I will caution any of you who is not proficient in watchmaking against trying to fix a hairspring. It is an art form, and I am no artist. And they are VERY easy to break. I figured if I ruined the part, I'd just locate another for 50 bucks or so and replace it. Sadly, it wasn't until AFTER I ruined the old one that I learned it is IMPOSSIBLE to find just a hairspring for most old balances, and for the 730, there just aren't parts to be found at any usual source. I think I found one on ebay for 550 usd, balance complete. Yikes. I felt like a nitwit, and set the watch aside, hoping to maybe someday find a balance.

Two days ago I was searching junk on Facebook marketplace and happened upon the Wakmann shown below. It was 30 mins away and priced at 100. The kid who had it knew it was worth good money if in good shape, but it was clearly in need of love. It had not been opened in ages, so I was just hoping the balance was good. I got the watch and opened it up (had brought along a two point opener). The watch was running. The heart beating...though faint. I wound it, and found the mainspring was broken and would only store an hour or so worth of energy. But the watch was a perfect heart donor.

Anyway, I got home, popped the entire balance with bridge in my triple date reverse panda, and off it went. It's keeping great time. I know...it should be serviced, but it won't be worn, like 95 percent of my watches. I sold the rest of movement, etc for a nice chunk, too. I am taking this as a good sign for the new year.

Like 7