Forums Latest Members

Goldilocks when it comes to sizing

1. maine-iac1 Jun 18, 2018

Hi all. I'm new to the forum, and am preparing for a purchase, probably a PO or Diver. I'm looking something a bit understated in the sizing department. I measured my watches and all run in the 38 to 40 mm size range, and I recently tried on a 1968 Rolex Explorer (36mm !!) and felt that it had decent proportions. Anyway, I have my eye on the Seamaster Driver (41 mm) and the Planet Ocean (39.5). Any thoughts on which one wears smaller, from anyone who has both? I've tried on both but am interested in others' opinions.

2. ulackfocus Jun 18, 2018

I like cantaloupe and watermelon mixed together.

Kmart, Riviera Paradise, Mtek and 2 others like this.
  3. jimmyd13 Jun 18, 2018

You're the only one who can decide what fits well. Recently I've tried on a PO that just felt too big and a PloProf that felt perfect on my wrist. I'm sure there's a perfectly good scientific reason involving lots of complex equations about ratios of case dimensions, weight and bracelets ... but just go with what you're happy with.

4. Meme-Dweller Jun 18, 2018

The 39.5mm has better proportions but is thick. If you think the 36mm Explorer is the type of proportion you desire, neither of these watches will do. Modern divers are very unrefined in comparison for daily wear. If it must be a diver, I'd recommend the new 2018 36mm Oris Sixty-Five.

Foo2rama likes this.
  5. maine-iac1 Jun 19, 2018

Thanks, I know that it ultimately comes down to gut feeling when it comes to size, weight, proportions, etc. I've already tried them both, and will be trying them again soon from an AD. That said, I'm interested in others' views, if this hasn't already been beaten to death. Still wondering if anyone on this forum owns both? I guess it's unlikely, but possible.

6. cimo Jun 19, 2018

I'm a little confused by your question. A 36mm Explorer is to a Porsche what those other divers are to a Land Rover.