Forums Latest Members

FOIS: Is this a good choice for my first Omega?

1. bluesamurai Jul 14, 2017

Hi to everyone. This is my first post and I'd really appreciate some advice about buying my first luxury watch.

I've recently become interested in nice watches (want to look smarter, fed up of using my mobile to tell the time, etc) and have decided to buy a quality watch (I recently bought a basic Citizen as my everyday watch). After doing some research I've decided that the First Omega In Space fits my needs perfectly. It's not overly expensive, looks great IMHO, has a perfect strap for me (I have a penchant for stylish brown leather boots), it's an Omega Speedmaster and all that goes with that, and finally I have tiny wrists at about 6.25 inches so the 39.7mm sizing is more suitable for me. However, being a newbie, I'm unsure of a few things.

Firstly, I'm from the UK, but live overseas in an environment that is not suited to luxury timepieces, and therefore I would only wear the watch for about a 2/3 months a year when I travel home or elsewhere. The rest of the time it would be in the box. I understand that the FOIS requires hand-winding, so would it be fine to simply wind the watch each time I bring it out to play, or would sporadic use have any adverse effects?

Secondly, and partly related to the first point, I've read that hand-winding can cause the crown and possibly other parts of watches to wear out more quickly than an automatic. Is this an issue with this watch or is it not something to even think about?