Forums Latest Members
  1. TexasKevin Apr 3, 2014

I posted about this watch a few months ago. After 3 months I finally got my watch back.
    At first look, I was stunned at how pretty it is now. After the initial excitement died down a little and I thought about it a little. They didn't really follow my explicit directions. I asked for the crystal to be buffed out, and the crown replaced and stated nothing should be done to the face. When they came back with an estimate the only thing they mentioned added was polishing the case. I said I was worried about devaluing it, and okay'd a light polish to the case.
    So, here's the before and after pics.
    BEFORE:
    37146-262008c01ed4b0c9b465b45ac6ff9002.jpg

AFTER:

20140403_080333.jpg

20140401_174153.jpg

It looks stunning now, but I'm no antique expert, I don't know the difference between patina and grime. Did this guy de-value my watch by cleaning the face and markers?
    I think I'm happy with the results, even though they didn't follow my directions, just curious if they ruined the value.
    Thanks for opinions.

citizenrich likes this.
  2. woodwkr2 Apr 3, 2014

Two possibilities here, and I'm kinda cringing for you...

1) many of these dials were coated with cellulose based lacquer, which can discolor and flake. This can sometimes be successfully removed without damaging (read: with minimal damage) to the underlying print on the dial. Then it can be re-sprayed with a protective top coat and you're on your way. The fact that the dial damage on the far left of the dial is still there argues in favor of this possibility.

2) the easier/more likely possibility is that the dial was completely re-done. In this case you've got a cosmetic improvement, but just lost some serious value in many peoples' eyes.

I'm no expert in identifying re-dials on these models, so I'm struggling to make an assessment with the pictures that you've posted.

The experts will be along shortly...

TexasKevin likes this.