Forums Latest Members

First vintage watch, replacing strap, service, cleaning/polishing

1. Cqret May 5, 2019

Hello, I am new here. I recently received a watch from my grandfather, however, he received it from his friend and has not really been using it himself (meaning I have no connection to scratches and such). I've looked online to see what model it is and the most similar I can find is this watch from 1972 that is for sale: https://www.chrono24.se/omega/geneve-gold-watch-14k-cal1030---1972--id11027718.htm

The watch seems to run fine and keep time but I don't think the date change mechanism works (it didn't change overnight at least). It also only lasts around 12 hours. I plan to have it serviced at an AD which will probably sort those problems.

Now to my questions, I've read that polishing a watch is about the same level of crime as murder and pillaging. I am no expert but the edges of the case seem sharp which leads me to believe it has not been polished(?). While the case of the watch looks okay, I would like the remove some of the scratches on the glass. I would also like the case thoroughly cleaned (or very lightly polished). What do you think of this? Would you remove scratches on glass? Would you clean/polish?

The strap is in fairly poor condition, how do I go about replacing it. I do want to keep the clasp. The strap is 18 mm at the thick end and the clasp is 16 mm. Can an AD fix this for me or do I need to find an old strap somewhere with the correct clasp?

What color of the strap would you recommend? Is black the go to or can you go with something like dark brown?

After servicing and changing the strap, would the watch have any value?

Thank you for your time.

(Also I do not know how to open the backside.)

Now pictures (yes I do have small wrists):
    IMG_20190504_101048.jpg
    IMG_20190504_100118.jpg
    IMG_20190504_100244.jpg

Shots in different light showing scratches:
    IMG_20190503_200613.jpg
    IMG_20190504_100533.jpg

Side shots: