Forums Latest Members
  1. vandesteeg Jun 30, 2018

Hello everyone,

I am looking into buying my first 'real' watch and want to buy the first piece for my future collection. Now, i've een looking at second hand watches (especially Omega's) and I find it hard to figure out what watch is worth what price. I don't have a lot of money since I'm a student but I would really like to own a quality vintage dress watch. So here's two watches that i've been looking at. The first one being the most beautiful one of the two, an Omega Constellation:
    - Omega Referentie: CD 168.004
    - Omega Caliber: 561 (Chronometer, 5 positions, 24 jewels)
    - Mechanism nr: 230462XX (1966)
    But this also comes with a price, i think i can get it for about 700-800 Euros. Omega constelation front.JPG Omega constelation back.JPG
    Now the second watch i've been looking at, which is at a much lower price point, and I don't know as much about this watch as I do about the other one. It's an Omega De Ville with the .1002 movement. Now I know this is a somewhat 'faulty' movement and i cant figure out whether it has had the fix that would make this movement better. Here are the pictures of that watch.
    Omega de ville front.JPG Omega de ville back.JPG
    I can get this watch for about 300 euros.

Now my question is, are both watches worth their asking price, and which watch should i get from a price/value perspective? From a looks point of view i like both, but i know the constellation is a better watch.. However it's also way more expensive. I hope you guys can give me some insights since I'm pretty new to horology.

Thanks,

Jelle (btw I'm Dutch)

2. Fialetti Jun 30, 2018

It's hard to tell much about the condition of either watch from these small and out of focus photos. If you are buying them online, you should request more detailed photos from the seller. You can take a look at the for sale postings here to see what an informative set of photos looks like.