Forums Latest Members

First Time Vintage Omega Buyer - Seamaster 120 (Advice Please)

1. J_Berg Apr 4, 2018

Hi, I'm new to this and just bought my first Omega Vintage watch. I have searched the internet to try and find another like it but with difficulty, leaving me slightly concerned. It has a Seamaster 120 dial, cal 601 but the ref# on the inside of the case back matches the Geneve, I believe. Is it possible that either the case back or dial has been replaced at some point? Also, do the hands look original? I also haven't seen any other 120 models with numbers.

I appreciate any advice you can give.

Cheers,

John

IMG_3948.PNG IMG_3947.PNG IMG_3946.PNG IMG_3945.PNG IMG_3944.PNG IMG_3949 (1).PNG
    Edited Apr 4, 2018
  2. ConElPueblo Apr 4, 2018

That is a complete hack job. Don't walk away, run!

NOTSHARP and Lucasssssss like this.
  3. Shabbaz Apr 4, 2018

Hi John,

Thanks for posting your watch. You are right there are some issues with the watch. Caseback belongs to a geneve, the case belongs to another modelnumber and the dial is terrible. It's a redial.

4. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Apr 4, 2018

That dial hurts my eyes...

justinz and turbo_muc like this.
  5. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Apr 4, 2018

Already bought it, according to the OP. Here's the proper buying sequence: Educate, Educate, Educate; Ask questions; Buy.

bardamu likes this.
  6. Shabbaz Apr 4, 2018

Can you return it?

7. ConElPueblo Apr 4, 2018

Oh, didn't see that - too bad :(

8. cimo Apr 4, 2018

Hello,

Welcome to the forum. I am afraid it is unlikely that is the original dial for this watch. The hands I am less certain, but if the dial has been replaced or repainted, there is a good chance the hands have been as well. A cursory search also turns up that the reference number on the case back likely does not match the case.

The good news is the movement looks to be in decent shape.

9. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Apr 4, 2018